Any famous and unique Chinese ancient towns to recommend?
16:13 Mar.21, 2014
China Tour Guide
I’m studying Chinese history and culture currently. And I was impressed by the long and rich history and culture of the ancient China. One of my friends who ever went to China told me that learning ancient towns in China is a good method to know more about Chinese history and culture. So I was wondering, maybe I should take a trip to some great ancient towns in China. But before this, I want to get a general idea of famous or unique Chinese ancient towns. Any information about this topic is highly appreciated. Thanks.

Re RE:Oliver : Except those ancient towns the other two mentioned in their answers, I have others to provide.
Hongcun Ancient Village and Xidi Ancient Village in Anhui Province have great views. There are not only ancient, but also natural.These two villages are classic and outstanding representatives of Hui-styled history and culture. You should not miss them when travel to China.
Also, other ancient towns and villages I’ve never been to, but already heard of are Tunxi Village, Luzhi Ancient Town, Arctic Village, Qibao Ancient Town and Zhujiajiao Ancient Town in Shnghai, Pingyao Ancient Town in Shanxi, Dali and Lijiang in Yunnan, Ciqikou Ancient Town in Chongqing. Hope this information would provide some help. 

Re RE:Oliver : Still, there are many other ancient towns that are famous and beautiful, and also have great culture and history to explore. Here I have some other information about Chinese ancient towns for your reference.

Zhouzhuang in Zhejiang Province.
Tongli Town in Jiangsu Province.
Xitang Ancient Town in Zhejiang Province.
Chikan Ancient Town in Guangdong Province.
Changding in Fujian Province.
Ancient village along the Kanas River in Xinjiang.
Heshun Town in Yunnan Province.
Qingyan Ancient Town in Guizhou Province.
Fenghuang Ancient Town in Hunan Province.