+852 5375 3015

Relax in Panshan Scenic Area

 2014-02-11    Ada    Tours    Jixian    1352  

Covering an area of 106 square kilometers, Mt. Panshan Scenic Area is located in Jixian County. As the name suggests, the scenic area is mainly Mt Panshan-oriented. Endowed with natural beauty and a historical heritage, Mt Panshan is known as 'The First Mountain East of Beijing' and is listed as one of the top fifteen mountains in China.

Seventy-two temples, thirteen pagodas and numerous Xanadus and towers were built on the mountain in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) and the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911). Qianlong, a brilliant and wise Qing Dynasty emperor was so impressed that he made thirty or so visits and wrote 1366 poems to express his admiration of the area.

Walking into Mt. Panshan, what in your eyes first is clear streams and the largest temple on it Tiancheng Temple named by Emperor Qianlong. It lies on cliffs and faces gullies, built with carved beams and painted pillars. Climbing on, you will see a variety of rocks, unique and multiform. Among them, there is a kind of rock named shaking rock in the shape of a longevity peach. Once you push it, it will shake for a while itself magically.

Reaching the top, the Moon Hanging Peak (Guayue feng), your eyes will be full of vast greenness, most of which are pine trees in different postures and manners. The sutra of the tang Dynasty is just located there. It's said that there is Buddhist light sparkling on the sutra every New Year Eve of the Chinese lunar calendar.

It is famous for jade pine trees, strange and astonishing peaks, clear waters, grotesquely shaped rocks and clusters of ancient temples. On its top, numerous pines hide the sky from view and block out the sunshine. Rugged rocks in a variety of shapes, some of which resemble a toad, a general or a boa, will greet you in the middle of the mountain.

At its foot, clear water splashes on the rocks. The mountain consists of five peaks, with the main one, Guayue (Moon Hanging) Peak. Although Guayue Peak is only 857 meters (2811.7 feet) above sea level, to the north it is possible to see a section of the Great Wall while to the west Mt Taihang can be seen.

There are four main temples: Tiancheng Temple (God Proposing Temple), Yunzhao Temple (Cloud-Hiding Temple), Wanfo Temple (Ten Thousand-Buddha Temple) and Wansong Temple (Ten Thousand-Pine Temple). From the Wei State during the Three Kingdoms Period (220-280) onwards, emperors enthusiastically commissioned the building of temples, towers and Xanadus resulting in over 160 such sites. Tiancheng Temple built in the Tang Dynasty, was enlarged and repaired in the Ming and the Qing dynasties. To the east of this temple stands the Ancient Dagoba. As the biggest tower in this mountain, it has thirteen floors.

The roof of the Yunzhao Temple was a golden yellow, a color that normally was only allowed to be used on imperial buildings. By granting permission for this, Emperor Qianlong demonstrated his approval and admiration of the mountain. Wanfo Temple (Ten Thousand-Buddha Temple) has 10,960 small Buddhas statues.

Related Read:

Recommended Tours

Note: You cannot see your question on the website once you post. We will answer your question by e-mail.

  • Post as a Guest
  • Member Login