+852 5375 3015

Wuxi Mount Lingshan Scenic Area

 2018-01-22    Donna    Sights    Wuxi    1475  

Mount Lingshan Scenic Area is situated in Wuxi which is a 1 hour and 30 minute drive from Shanghai. Mount Lingshan Scenic Area is a part of Taihu Lake National Tourist Resort and is famous for its 88 meter Buddhist statue which is one of the largest in the world. Other attractions in the scenic area that should not be missed are Brahma Palace, Five Mudra Mandala and Nine Dragons Bathing Sakyamuni. 


Mount Lingshan Scenic Area Opening Hours: 9:00AM to 5.30PM 

Admission: 210 Yuan 

How long to spend at the park: At least 3 hours, as there is more to the Grand Buddha park than just the statue. 

Brahma Palace 

Brahma Palace covers 70,000 square meters and is made up of three floors. The architecture and interior of the building demonstrates Buddhist culture and amazing traditional Chinese art and décor. Visitors can admire the intricate Dongyang woodcarvings which are carved into Nanmu wood which is considered very precious in China. 



There are also murals and large scale oil paintings that exhibit the development and Buddhist culture in China. There is also a spectacular roof dome in Brahma Palace which consists of carvings and detailed Buddhist figures. Also be sure to enjoy the wonderful “Ode to Auspice” performance in the multi function theatre.     

“Ode to Auspice” Performance Time: 

Monday – Friday: 10:35AM, 11:30AM, 2:00PM, 4:00PM 

Saturday – Sunday: 10:35AM, 11:30AM, 1:00PM, 2:00PM, 3:00PM, 4:00PM 

Five Mudra Mandala

The Five Mudra Mandala is built using Tibetan architecture and design and can be recognized due to its golden roof and colorful prayer flags. Within there are 5 Buddha’s representing the 5 different directions. The interior of Five Mudra Mandala is pure and sacred with painted sculptures, murals, woodcarvings and Thangka. Visitors can take part in a range of Tibetan activities at Five Mudra Mandala. 

Wuxi-Five -Mudra -Mandala.jpg


Nine Dragons Bathing Sakyamuni 

Wuxi-Nine- Dragons- Bathing- Sakyamuni.jpg

The Nine Dragons Bathing Sakyamuni is actually a music fountain which is based upon the birth of Sakyumani. According to Buddhist sutras Sakyamuni was born with the ability to speak and walk and for every step he took a lotus would grow and bloom. For each step he made when he walked seven steps in each of the four directions. He said ‘I’m the honored master of the world’ with one hand pointing to heaven and the other pointing to the earth. After, nine dragons appeared in the sky and bathed the Buddha with water. 

Music Fountain Performance Time: 10:00AM, 11:30AM, 1:00PM, 2:45PM and 4:45PM.

Related Read:

Note: You cannot see your question on the website once you post. We will answer your question by e-mail.

  • Post as a Guest
  • Member Login