+852 5375 3015

South China Karst

 Kunming Attractions

Shanhaiguan Great Wall

Introduction to South China Karst (中国南方喀斯特地貌)

The Stone Forest in Shilin County has been designated by the National Tourism Administration as one of the AAAA scenic spots, the highest level of tourist attractions in China. On June 27th, 2008, it was chosen by an unanimous vote to be one of the World Natural Heritages by the UNESCO on the thirty-first World Heritage Conference. Consist of mainly carbonates such as limestones and dolostone, the karst topography existing in the southern part of China is characterized by large distributions, various landforms, typical structures and abundant ecological systems and life-forms.

Shilin Karst (Yunnan)

The two core zones of this cluster, which share a single buffer zone, contain examples of "stone forest" karst landscapes noted for high limestone pinnacles and towers decorated with deep, sharp karren. They have been selected as classic examples of the variety of stone forests that are found within the South China Karst. The Shilin stone forests illustrate the episodic nature of the evolution of these karst features, which span 270 million years.

Libo Karst (Guizhou)

The two core zones of this cluster, which share a single buffer zone, illustrate the geomorphological exchange and evolution between fengcong landscapes and fenglin landscapes. They provide classic examples of a diverse variety of cone and tower karst landscapes and contain a combination of numerous tall karst peaks, deep dolines, sinking streams, and long and large river caves. This cluster is also noted for its biodiversity values, which include the presence of over 314 vertebrate species, 1,532 plant species, including several endemic species and a number of plants and animals that are globally or nationally endangered.

Wulong Karst (Chongqing)

The three core zones of this cluster, each with its own buffer zone, provide an example of a karst landscape that has evolved in areas where thick sequences of pure carbonate rocks have been subjected to tectonic uplift. The Qingkou Giant Doline, some 200-250m in diameter, represents tiankeng karst. The Three Natural Bridges, which are 223, 235 and 281 m in height, illustrate the development of karst gorges and valleys. This area also includes further giant dolines.

The Furong Cave System illustrates how tectonic processes lead to the formation of large caverns and chambers that subsequently become decorated by speleothems.

Shanhaiguan Great Wall


Stone Forest Address: Shilin Yi Autonomous County, Kunming, Yunnan Province

Shanhaiguan Great Wall

Main Sights

The scenic area includes 8 major scenic spots, the Stone Forest, Naigu Stone Forest, Dadieshui Waterfall, Changhu Lake, Moon Lake, Zhiyun Cave, Qifeng Cave and Guishan National Forest Park

Shanhaiguan Great Wall 

Travel Information

Admission: 175 yuan for adult, 130 yuan for child 

Opening Hours: 8:30AM - 6:00PM 

Shanhaiguan Great Wall


1. You can take nonstop buses from Kunming Railway Station to scenic spot directly.

2. You can take bus from Dongju Bus Terminal or Eastern Bus Terminal to Shilin County, then transfer to Stone Forest for about 20 min.

3. You can also take trains from Kunming to Shilin Railway Station, then transfer bus to Stone Forest.

Shanhaiguan Great Wall

Travel Tips 

1. You had better wear hiking shoes or jogging shoes for the long stone path in Stone Forest.

2. Do not get too close to the bullfight at Torch Festival for it is dangerous.

Shanhaiguan Great Wall

Tour including Visiting South China Karst

1 Day Kunming Stone Forest Tour

Recommend China Tours